BLUE VELVET CAKE RECIPE

BLUE VELVET CAKE

I took up baking about a year ago, in all honesty because I was unemployed. I was being a bum because when you apply for hundreds of jobs and nothing comes about, you have no choice but to be a bum.

I’ve always liked baking but finding the time was always difficult. But after many cakes, cupcakes and cookies I found a need to find time in my life for it because I love it so much. I’m in full-time working mode now but baking is by far a big part of my life.

So with that being said, one of my friends had a birthday party for her little boy who was turning two. She seemed to like things I have done before and asked if I would do a cake for her little one. The only thing she asked for was for the cake to be blue and it to be buttercream. So off I go looking for recipes that could possibly work. Straight away one of my favourite and most successful cakes came about, Red Velvet. So I found a little recipe online for a Blue Velvet Cake. Now the only thing is blue doesn’t quite work as well as red when it comes to this cake. So I’ve put some stars at the bottom to just explain what I changed to make the blue more ‘Royal’.

Above is how it turned out with the addition of a police car and Lightening McQueen from Cars (he’s favourite movie). Recipe follows:

This recipe is thanks to Rima from Bisous A Toi with a few tweaks:

(A)

120g Unsalted Butter

270-280g Caster Sugar (Rima uses 300g but I found it too sweet along with buttercream)

(B)

150g eggs whisked lightly (I found this to be two decent sized medium eggs)

(C)

250g Plain Flour

5g Baking Powder

15g Good Cocoa Powder (I use Green and Blacks every time, comes out with a smooth flavour)

5g Baking Soda

(D)

240ml Buttermilk (Rima uses regular milk, but if you’re using less sugar then buttermilk gets the unique red velvet taste)

5-10g Blue colouring (see below *points on this)

2.5g Vinegar (I used Rice Wine Vinegar because it was all I had in the fridge, but apple cider would work too)

METHOD:

Preheat oven to 180C. Grease and line the bottom of two 9′ sandwich tins (try to find high sided ones because the cake will puff up).

Sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder and baking soda into a bowl and set aside. Put butter and sugar into another bowl, or the bowl of a stand electric mixer. I used a hand mixer for this, so beat butter and sugar together until well blended and fluffy. The sugar should be mostly dissolved at this point. Turn the mixer to low and add in (B) and (C) alternatively, and continue to whisk until well blended.

Very slowly add in (D), beat on low-speed until all is combined. Turn mixer up to medium and beat mixture for a couple of minutes until it feels light and well blended (you’ll know by the way it looks and how easily the mixer goes through the batter).

Divide batter between the two sandwich tins and bake for about 20mins, or until a cake tester comes out clean. The cake will be very soft so don’t mistake that for not being cooked, get your cake tester in there and you’ll more than likely notice it comes out clean. Hey presto, two cakes to sandwich together with anything you wish 🙂

NOTES**

*The colour is really important with Blue Velvet Cake, the first time I did it I used liquid blue colouring and it came out a greyish green colour. Basically the liquid colours aren’t strong enough to overcome the other ingredients. Egg yolks can dull colour, and cocoa powder absorbs colour. A lot of red velvet recipes call for the colouring to make a paste with the cocoa. You can’t do this with blue as blue can change shades very easily. The best to use is paste colours, however I couldn’t find them for this so I used Home2Bake gel colour. Using about 8g of this is good enough to get your blue colour. To get a wonderful royal blue which I realised later, you can buy Home2Bake Violet gel. Literally put a toothpick sized amount in with the blue and it will fully keep its royal blue colour.

*I actually baked two lots of this mixture to make my cake, it gives you a decent sized cake for a small party of eight with some left over to bakes blue cupcakes. You can shave the cupcakes up and stick the crumbles to the side of the cake to give it a lovely cake crust.

*Don’t use normal vinegar for this. It’s only used to set of the baking soda and make the cake light, so it’s not for taste and needs to be a clear vinegar. White wine, rice wine or apple cider would do fine.

He seemed to like his cake anyhow 🙂

Leave a Reply

